Ramblings of a Bitter Nature

Unemployed and downtrodden, it’s the mood of the day. I recently lost a bid for State Representative to a 33 year old boy who lives at home with his mother and father and mows the lawn at a golf course. It’s a bit demoralizing to lose that way. Did I mention that his mother is the current Representative who has termed out? I guess that’s the bit of slightly tarnished silver lining that I could apply to the situation. Any way you cut it, it still sucks. When you are involved in a campaign you spend your mornings, noons and nights completely engrossed with your campaign. You have to always be “on” and learn to speak in “sound bites”. Anything you say can and will be misquoted in the press.

I’m bitter. Bitter and angry.

That’s the mood for the day. I feel the need to go to a shooting range, but honestly my pajamas are very comfortable and I don’t think I should go out in public in them. Though, it wouldn’t be out of the ordinary for this particular area. It might even improve my “street cred” around here. Just for giggles, yesterday I went out after church (no, the roof did not fall in when I walked inside) to Wal-Mart (aka hell in a brick building) wearing a long sleeve t-shirt, shorts, my UGGS and a ponytail. It was very freeing. My airbrush makeup machine is back in it’s box, waiting for a time when it’s needed to give me a camera-ready appearance.

I’m not sure what to do with my day today. When you have too much time on your hands you tend to get absolutely nothing done.

About carriecabral

I'm a bitter woman. I recently lost my campaign for State Representative and now have to find something to do. Campaigning consumed my life, morning noon and night for eight months. I keep asking myself, "What next?" but I don't get an answer. I felt it would be cathartic to start a blog about what I am doing now that the campaign is over, no matter how mundane the task.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ramblings of a Bitter Nature

  1. Alisa says:

    Girl, get your airbrush make up out and continue wearing it. Even Wal-Mart goers need make-up.
    You can come use the shooting range at my house anytime with your P.J’s on!

  2. drur says:

    When was the last time the 110th district went Republican?

    • carriecabral says:

      Back in the 1960’s or something. If I would have had just 7% more of the vote I could have won it… not that I’ve done the numbers or anything. I did all I could with what I had. The district is drawn out to be predominately Democrat and is nearly impossible to win.

  3. Shelley says:

    Girl, girl, girl… I SO feel ya. Kinda like trying to run a campaign with $8,000 when your opponent has $60,000 (I kinda know of one like that here recently….). And out of respect, I won’t get into all the fun little details like switching political parties just to get money or… well, I’m stopping now. But you are right, it is a bitter pill to swallow. I have never in my life seen the amount of two faced people who will lie right to your face when it involves politics. I just don’t understand…

    It is such a letdown… all the hard work, the events, the shaking hands, kissing babies, door to door… people saying “man it sure looks good, all i hear is good for you!” ugh. Seeing the physical toll it took on my dad is heartwrenching, and I know you’re still a young pup šŸ™‚ but i know it was exhausting for you too. My heart truly goes out to you, and I still stand by what I said about you having my full admiration. I’m telling you I could NOT do it, I guess I have too much Judy in me, lol! I get my feelings hurt too easily. You are the only friend I have that has the guts and the nuts to take this on. I do not doubt in the LEAST that you will be in Jeff City soon. I don’t doubt it at ALL. It is simply a matter of time… you have a LOT of years left. So just brush this little fly off your shoulder, because it is NOTHING compared to what is ahead of you.

Leave a Reply

