Committing Pork Blasphemy

Today I am committing pork blasphemy. I am cooking both Canadian and traditional bacon. On the same griddle. Surely, somewhere in a book, I’m committing a heinous violation of Shar’ia law or some other nonsense. At least it will taste good while I’m blaspheming.

Speaking of blasphemy, recently in the news I read a story about a Pakistani Christian woman who was sentenced to death by hanging for blasphemy against Muhammad. According to the woman’s co-workers she stated that Muhammad was a lay-about who had worms crawling in his ears and mouth during the last year of his life. A man who married his child bride for money and booted her out on her ass. This was reported to higher authorities and as a result she was arrested and tried. This statement was released:

Police say Bibi was charged with breaking section 295-C of Pakistan’s penal code, which says: “Whoever … defiles the sacred name of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) shall be punished with death, or imprisonment for life, and shall also be liable to fine.”

Gosh, Islam really is the religion of peace… at the end of a rope, enforced with intimidation and degradation. Think about that today while you’re eating your bacon. I sure will be.

About carriecabral

I'm a bitter woman. I recently lost my campaign for State Representative and now have to find something to do. Campaigning consumed my life, morning noon and night for eight months. I keep asking myself, "What next?" but I don't get an answer. I felt it would be cathartic to start a blog about what I am doing now that the campaign is over, no matter how mundane the task.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

