What is the Angle of Rangel’s Dangle?

I find it odd that a seasoned politician like Charlie Rangel would make a silly Freshman mistake like grossly misusing his campaign funds. Even first timers get information and advice from their respective Campaign Committees regarding campaign finance and acceptable uses of campaign dollars. It makes me wonder what was the angle of Rangel’s dangle? He has a plethora of advisors, the House has a campaign committee that does oversight for their candidates and elected officials. Why was he allowed to do this? Simple… he’s been in Congress for too long.

As the first black chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee, Rangel rose to power and influence. With this came a sense of entitlement that disconnected him from the little, common folks. He became a victim of his own greed. At 80 years of age, Charlie is politically finished. He will not get re-elected even by his Harlem faithful.

The latest trend in politics seems to be out with the old and in with the new. Locally, we have seen a “popular” Presiding Commissioner go from being at the top of the heap to the gum on the shoe of the guy at the bottom of the heap. He’s not handling it well.

When allegations of unethical conduct or misappropriation of funds comes to light, it’s often the person in charge who suffers the repercussions. Sometimes, the person actually responsible will be held accountable, but it’s rare. Someone has to mind the till and be responsible for it if it comes up short.

Who was watching Rangel’s till?

About carriecabral

I'm a bitter woman. I recently lost my campaign for State Representative and now have to find something to do. Campaigning consumed my life, morning noon and night for eight months. I keep asking myself, "What next?" but I don't get an answer. I felt it would be cathartic to start a blog about what I am doing now that the campaign is over, no matter how mundane the task.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is the Angle of Rangel’s Dangle?

  1. Amy says:

    Chuck thought he was untouchable

    • carriecabral says:

      I find it odd that his party wouldn’t have been keeping a closer eye on him. Congressmen have handlers, I know this first hand. I think his party wanted him gone. He can’t “term out” and be replaced, he is very strong in his respective area and what better way to ensure he doesn’t get the democratic nomination next time than to involve him in a scandal that, essentially, will end his career. I’m not saying he shouldn’t be replaced by someone younger and fresher, I’m saying it was a calculated move.

Leave a Reply

