Who Forgot the Green Bean Casserole?

While this is a change from my usual political charged posts, it’s sure to be a refreshing and entertaining one. I thought about posting an article I wrote for a magazine about Thanksgiving, but decided readers needed new material. Here it is, folks, my plan for Thanksgiving Day.

Thanksgiving, for the “Rayfield Girls” usually begins the day before with baking and other such nonsense. Someone always makes a potato dish, Summer makes deviled eggs and the green bean casserole, Amy makes one hell of a salad, Mom makes the turkey and chicken and dumplings and I make something weird. Without fail, I make and bring the strangest items. There was the candy apple salad a few years back… the farthest thing from being an actual salad with all the whipped cream and cut up Snickers bars leftover from Halloween. It was a big hit with the kids. This year I’m making a baked brie with a mango and ginger chutney. I’m baking an artisan loaf of sour dough bread to schmeer it on. I’m sure no one else will be brave enough to give it a shot, so it will be all mine.

Back to the day… me and the kids will go to mass at 9:00am. Then we head to the land of the banjo music. My parents live about an hour south of us in a small town called Ellington. There is barely a cell signal and the only radio stations you get preach hellfire and brimstone 24/7. We should get to my parents house at noon, just in time to say the prayer and eat.

What happens after that is predictable and not newsworthy to anyone but the members of my family… we draw names for Christmas, talk about gifts and who’s bringing what to the next gathering. We criticize the person who forgot the green bean casserole and chastise the ones who made the strangest or grossest dish this time around.

Happy Thanksgiving Ya’ll!

Visit http://www.uprinting.com for your holiday printing needs.
(This is an entry into “Plan it, Blog it! 2010 Thanksgiving Blog Writing Contest”)

About carriecabral

I'm a bitter woman. I recently lost my campaign for State Representative and now have to find something to do. Campaigning consumed my life, morning noon and night for eight months. I keep asking myself, "What next?" but I don't get an answer. I felt it would be cathartic to start a blog about what I am doing now that the campaign is over, no matter how mundane the task.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

