Shooting Yourself In the Foot

I have been known from time to time to express my opinion on certain matters without thought to consequence. This was reinforced by a conversation I had the other day with a friend of mine who is a Judge. Blatant honesty, while the most fulfilling way of expression, is sometimes a Very Bad Thing (TM) if you are in politics and want people to help you along the way. Not only do you shoot yourself in the foot, but often these things come back to bite you in the butt later down the line.

During my campaign I made a statement to a person I respected tremendously about his/her future plans once they left office. I told them that I understood why they were pushing for certain legislation because it would give them something to do once they were out of the political arena. I also expressed that I disapproved of it. In fact, I thought it was a crappy thing to do. I blew a hole clean through my foot with that one.

As a result, my former hero/heroine did not help me during my campaign, but instead hurt me. If I’ve learned anything during all of this, it’s to censor your honesty. Some people don’t want to hear or see the truth regardless. While honesty is usually the best policy, in politics it’s a grey area that you have to tread lightly in. That is what is wrong with our system and our government. Our elected officials can’t stomach honesty. They can’t hear it from someone and not take offense because they know that they have done something less than honorable that could land them into hot water and that there are people watching who have figured it out and reprimanded them for it.

When did we start putting elected officials on pedestals? They are bound by the same laws and mores that we, now considered the peasant class, are… or at least they should be. Have a fantastic weekend.

About carriecabral

I'm a bitter woman. I recently lost my campaign for State Representative and now have to find something to do. Campaigning consumed my life, morning noon and night for eight months. I keep asking myself, "What next?" but I don't get an answer. I felt it would be cathartic to start a blog about what I am doing now that the campaign is over, no matter how mundane the task.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

